Four drawers is the point where a file cabinet stops being furniture you can move and becomes furniture you place once. The number that should decide it is not the drawer count.
SMBy Scooter M.Published October 15, 2026Prices verified October 15, 2026
The short answer
Buy the Letaya 4-drawer lateral if you have 36 in of wall. It holds about 132 linear inches of filing at roughly 1.63 dollars an inch - more than double any 4-drawer vertical here and the cheapest inch in the whole drawer class. If the wall is narrower than 30 in, buy a vertical and accept less than half the capacity. Among the verticals, the AFAIF is the one to take: it is the only cabinet in this hub that publishes a per-drawer load rating, and at about 2.04 dollars an inch it is not paying a premium for that. The FLIXELIO is cheaper per inch than any of them and is the honest archive choice if you will rarely open the drawers.
Four drawers is a decision about your wall, not your paperwork
Every cabinet on this page is between 50 and 52.4 in tall. That is the fact that should frame the whole purchase, and it is the one the listings bury under drawer counts. A 4-drawer cabinet does not slide under a desk, does not work as a side table, and is tall enough that the top surface is at or above counter height - two of these listings suggest putting a printer up there, which would put the paper tray at chin level.
So the trade is not two drawers against four. It is one tall object against two short ones. Two 2-drawer cabinets give you the same drawer count, sit under a desk, can go in two different rooms, and cannot tip. One 4-drawer cabinet uses half the floor and gives you a single lockable place for everything. Both are defensible; only one of them is sold as the upgrade.
What four drawers genuinely buys is floor efficiency. The Letaya lateral puts 132 linear inches of filing into about 4 sq ft of floor. Getting that from 2-drawer verticals would take four cabinets and most of a wall.
Linear filing inches, worked
Drawer count tells you nothing on its own, because a lateral drawer holds two and a half times what a vertical drawer holds. The comparable number is linear filing inches, which this hub computes the same way on every page: folders file front-to-back in a vertical, so capacity follows DEPTH, and side-to-side in a lateral, so capacity follows WIDTH. Three inches comes off the published external figure for the shell and hardware.
Linear filing inches and cost per inch, at the prices when written
Letaya lateral: 36 in wide - 3 in shell = 33 in x 4 drawers = 132 linear in
BYNSOE lateral: 28.4 in wide - 3 in shell = 25.4 in x 4 = 101.6 linear in
AFAIF vertical: 17.72 in deep - 3 in shell = 14.72 in x 4 = 58.88 linear in
SISESOL vertical: 17.72 in deep - 3 in shell = 14.72 in x 4 = 58.88 linear in
FLIXELIO vertical: 17.72 in deep - 3 in shell = 14.72 in x 4 = 58.88 linear in
Cost per inch: Letaya about 1.63, FLIXELIO about 1.70, BYNSOE about 1.92, AFAIF about 2.04, SISESOL about 2.38
Our arithmetic, from each listing's own published dimensions and the live price at the time of writing. The 3 in shell allowance is derived from the one cabinet in this hub that publishes a drawer interior; for verticals nobody publishes one, so applying it there is an assumption and we say so every time.
What four drawers actually holds, by format
Cabinet
Format
Wall width needed
Linear filing inches
Cost per inch
Letaya AA1
Lateral
36 in
About 132
About $1.63
BYNSOE lateral
Lateral
28.4 in
About 101.6
About $1.92
AFAIF OI90
Vertical
15 in
About 58.9
About $2.04
SISESOL
Vertical
14.96 in
About 58.9
About $2.38
FLIXELIO FC-D4AB-450
Vertical
14.96 in
About 58.9
About $1.70
Capacity and cost per inch are our arithmetic; widths and depths are each listing's published figures. Cost per inch moves with the live price - the buy button always carries the current one.
The four verticals are the same cabinet
Line up the published dimensions of the 4-drawer verticals in this category and something becomes obvious.
Published dimensions and weight, four brands
Brand
Width
Depth
Height
Weight
AFAIF
15 in
17.72 in
50.12 in
62.4 lb
BYNSOE
15 in
17.71 in
50.11 in
62.4 lb
SISESOL
14.96 in
17.72 in
51.97 in
62 lb
FLIXELIO
14.96 in
17.72 in
52.4 in
60.4 lb
Each row is that listing's own published specification. The 14.96 and 17.72 figures are 38 cm and 45 cm converted.
These are not four designs that happen to be similar. They are one chassis - about 38 cm wide, 45 cm deep, 60 to 62 lb of steel - sold under four brand names, with the height varying by a couple of inches depending on the plinth. We are not claiming they come off one line, because nobody publishes that. We are saying the published numbers are identical to within a rounding error, and that this is the single most useful thing to know before paying a 40 per cent spread for one of them.
One load rating in the entire category
Of the five cabinets on this page, exactly one publishes what a drawer is rated to hold: the AFAIF, at 55 lb per drawer. Every other listing here describes its steel as thickened, heavy-duty or cold-rolled and never attaches a number to it.
That matters because paper is heavier than people expect, and this hub has the arithmetic for it: a letter-size banker's box holds roughly 2,500 sheets, which with the box is about 30 lb, and that works out at about 1.5 lb per linear inch of filing. Run the five cabinets through it.
What a full drawer of paper weighs, by format
Vertical drawer: 14.72 usable in x 1.5 lb per in = about 22 lb of paper
BYNSOE lateral drawer: 25.4 usable in x 1.5 = about 38 lb of paper
Letaya lateral drawer: 33 usable in x 1.5 = about 50 lb of paper
AFAIF published rating: 55 lb per drawer - about 2.5x what its own full drawer holds
Letaya loaded, all four drawers: 110 lb empty + about 198 lb of paper = about 308 lb
Our arithmetic, using the paper-weight figure documented across this hub. It is an estimate for ordinary office paper in hanging folders, not a measurement of any specific cabinet.
Two conclusions fall out. First, the AFAIF's 55 lb rating is reassuring rather than limiting - a full vertical drawer is about 22 lb, so the rating has more than twice the margin it needs, and the reason to value it is that the number exists at all. Second, and less comfortably: the drawers that most need a published rating are the lateral ones, and neither lateral publishes one. A full 33 in Letaya drawer is roughly 50 lb hanging off full-suspension slides at chest height. That is the drawer we would most like a number for, and it is the one nobody will give us.
How we ranked these
The same five metrics as the rest of this hub - capacity, value, security, drawer action and documentation - with capacity measured in linear filing inches and value as cost per inch at the live price. Documentation does real work on this page, because the chassis is shared and what each brand is willing to put in writing is most of what distinguishes them. Full rubric on how we pick.
#
Product
Best for
Score
Price
01
Letaya 4-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, 36 in (AA1)Thirty-six inches of lateral rail across four drawers: 132 linear filing inches, the most capacity and the cheapest inch of any 4-drawer cabinet we found.
BYNSOE 4-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, 28.4 in140 lb of all-steel lateral cabinet, the heaviest thing in this hub, with full-extension slides and a one-key interlock across all four drawers.
AFAIF 4-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 18 in Deep (OI90)The only cabinet in this entire hub that publishes a per-drawer load rating. 55 lb a drawer, stated, on a 15 in wide vertical chassis.
SISESOL 4-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet with Label HoldersFull-extension noise-free slides, a removable hanging bar and label holders on every drawer front, on the same 15 in chassis everyone else sells.
FLIXELIO 4-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet (FC-D4AB-450)The cheapest linear inch of filing in this drawer class, at about 1.70 dollars, on the same thickened cold-rolled chassis as the rest.
Ranked on linear filing inches and cost per inch, not on drawer count. Prices are live.
01/Letaya
4-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, 36 in (AA1)
Best 4-drawer overall
8.4/ 10
Thirty-six inches of lateral rail across four drawers: 132 linear filing inches, the most capacity and the cheapest inch of any 4-drawer cabinet we found.
Thirty-six inches of lateral rail across four drawers: 132 linear filing inches, the most capacity and the cheapest inch of any 4-drawer cabinet we found.
Published specification
Dimensions
52 in high x 36 in wide x 16 in deep
Listing published specification
Weight
110 lb
Listing published specification
Model
AA1
Letaya published specification
Filing capacity
About 132 linear in (4 drawers x about 33 in usable width)
Our arithmetic: published 36 in width minus the 3 in shell allowance, x 4 drawers
Cost per linear inch
About 1.63 dollars at the price shown when written
Our arithmetic from the live price and the capacity above
Capacity
Letter, legal, F4, A4 hanging folders; adjustable hanging bar
Letaya published specification
Lock
Folding key lock with built-in interlock; one drawer open at a time
Letaya published specification
Slides
Ball-bearing full suspension
Letaya published specification
Steel
Cold-rolled, powder-coated
Letaya published specification
Assembly
About 30 minutes, tools included
Letaya published specification
Drawer load rating
Not published
Absence confirmed against the published specification
What the specs are good for
132 linear filing inches, which is more than double any 4-drawer vertical and the most on this page by a wide margin
About 1.63 dollars per filing inch, the cheapest inch of any cabinet in this drawer class
Publishes an actual model number, a steel type and an assembly time, which most of this category does not
Full-suspension ball-bearing slides plus an interlock, which is the right pairing: full extension is what makes a lateral tippable and the interlock is what stops it
What they are not
36 in of uninterrupted wall, and at 52 in high it is wall furniture rather than anything that slides under a desk
Publishes no drawer load rating, and a full 33 in lateral drawer of paper is roughly 50 lb by our arithmetic - the heaviest drawer on this page and the one most in need of a number
110 lb empty, so it is a two-person carry and a one-time placement decision
The most expensive cabinet here in absolute terms, even though it is the cheapest per inch
Skip this if
Skip this if you cannot give it 36 in of clear wall. Lateral capacity is bought with width, and there is no version of this cabinet that delivers 132 inches in a narrower footprint. If the wall is the constraint rather than the budget, buy a vertical and accept less than half the filing.
Who it is for. A household that has outgrown a 2-drawer cabinet and has one clear wall to give it, filing enough paper that cost per inch is the number that matters.
One lock secures all four drawers, 2 keys, anti-tilt interlock
BYNSOE published specification
Slides
Steel ball-bearing full-extension
BYNSOE published specification
Finish
All-steel with a smooth waterproof coating
BYNSOE published specification
Model number
Not published
Absence confirmed against the published specification
Drawer load rating
Not published
Absence confirmed against the published specification
What the specs are good for
140 lb empty is 30 lb more steel than the wider Letaya, and mass is the one thing that makes a 52 in cabinet forgiving
101.6 linear inches at about 1.92 dollars each, in 7.6 in less wall than the Letaya needs
Full-extension ball-bearing slides specified, not merely implied
One lock, two keys, and an interlock that allows one drawer at a time
What they are not
Publishes no model number at all, which makes it impossible to tell this listing from a relabeled variant of it
No drawer load rating, on drawers that hold roughly 38 lb of paper each when full by our arithmetic
140 lb empty: this is the hardest cabinet here to move once placed, and it arrives flat-packed
Still 28.4 in of wall and 52 in of height, so the footprint savings over the Letaya are modest
Skip this if
Skip this if you want to be able to identify what you bought. BYNSOE publishes dimensions and hardware but no model number, so there is no way to match a future replacement part or a second unit to this exact cabinet. The Letaya publishes AA1 and costs about the same per inch.
Who it is for. Someone who wants lateral capacity, has under 30 in of wall, and would rather have the extra steel than the extra width.
One lock for all drawers, 2 keys, interlocking drawer system
AFAIF published specification
Slides
Ball-bearing; full extension not claimed
AFAIF published specification
Surface
Powder-coated, water-resistant; top usable for a printer or scanner
AFAIF published specification
What the specs are good for
A published 55 lb per-drawer load rating. One cabinet in this hub states one, and this is it
That 55 lb is comfortably more than a full drawer needs: about 14.7 in of paper is roughly 22 lb by our arithmetic, so the rating is not the limit here
About 2.04 dollars per filing inch in a 15 in wide footprint
Publishes a model number, OI90, so a second unit can be matched to this one
What they are not
Does not claim full extension, so the back of a 17.7 in drawer may not come all the way out
58.88 linear inches is less than half the Letaya lateral for not much less money
50 in tall and 62.4 lb: taller than a desk and too tall to use the top comfortably, despite the listing suggesting a printer goes there
Nothing published about the steel gauge
Skip this if
Skip this if you need to reach the back of the drawer without pulling files forward. It is the only cabinet here that publishes a load rating and one of the few that does not specify full-extension slides, which is an odd trade. The SISESOL specifies full extension at the same chassis size.
Who it is for. A narrow wall or an alcove, where 15 in of width is the constraint and knowing the drawer's rated load is worth more than the last inch of reach.
Full-extension noise-free slides, a removable hanging bar and label holders on every drawer front, on the same 15 in chassis everyone else sells.
Full-extension noise-free slides, a removable hanging bar and label holders on every drawer front, on the same 15 in chassis everyone else sells.
Published specification
Dimensions
51.97 in high x 14.96 in wide x 17.72 in deep
Listing published specification
Weight
62 lb
Listing published specification
Filing capacity
About 58.88 linear in (4 drawers x about 14.72 in usable depth)
Our arithmetic: published 17.72 in depth minus the 3 in shell allowance, x 4 drawers
Cost per linear inch
About 2.38 dollars at the price shown when written
Our arithmetic from the live price and the capacity above
Capacity
Letter, legal, A4 in all drawers; removable hanging bar
SISESOL published specification
Lock
Built-in lock with keys, anti-tip interlock, one drawer at a time
SISESOL published specification
Slides
Full-extension, noise-free
SISESOL published specification
Finish
Anti-rust electrostatic spray on metal construction
SISESOL published specification
Extra
Label holders on the drawer fronts
SISESOL published specification
Model number
Not published; the listing carries an internal identifier only
Absence confirmed against the published specification
Drawer load rating
Not published
Absence confirmed against the published specification
What the specs are good for
Full extension AND a removable hanging bar: the bar is what lets a drawer hold boxed or stacked files instead of only hanging folders
Label holders on the fronts, which on a four-drawer cabinet is the difference between a filing system and four identical black drawers
Anti-tip interlock with a conventional key lock
62 lb of steel in a 14.96 in width
What they are not
About 2.38 dollars per filing inch, the most expensive inch on this page
No model number: the listing's identifier is an internal string, not a product code
No drawer load rating
Dimensionally identical to three other cabinets here, so the hardware is the only thing you are paying extra for
Skip this if
Skip this if cost per inch is what you are optimizing. It is the priciest inch in this drawer class and the FLIXELIO is the same chassis for noticeably less. Buy it for the hardware - full extension, removable bar, label holders - or do not buy it.
Who it is for. Someone who files daily and will genuinely use labeled drawers and a removable bar, in a narrow footprint.
The cheapest linear inch of filing in this drawer class, at about 1.70 dollars, on the same thickened cold-rolled chassis as the rest.
The cheapest linear inch of filing in this drawer class, at about 1.70 dollars, on the same thickened cold-rolled chassis as the rest.
Published specification
Dimensions
52.4 in high x 14.96 in wide x 17.72 in deep
Listing published specification
Weight
60.4 lb
Listing published specification
Model
FC-D4AB-450
FLIXELIO published specification
Filing capacity
About 58.88 linear in (4 drawers x about 14.72 in usable depth)
Our arithmetic: published 17.72 in depth minus the 3 in shell allowance, x 4 drawers
Cost per linear inch
About 1.70 dollars at the price shown when written
Our arithmetic from the live price and the capacity above
Lock
One lock, 2 keys, anti-tilt interlock
FLIXELIO published specification
Steel
Thickened cold-rolled, powder-coated
FLIXELIO published specification
Slides
Not specified as full extension. The listing describes drawers that 'slide correctly' and will not fall out when fully opened
Absence confirmed against the published specification
Drawer load rating
Not published
Absence confirmed against the published specification
What the specs are good for
About 1.70 dollars per filing inch, the cheapest in this drawer class by a clear margin
Publishes a real model number, FC-D4AB-450, which the two pricier verticals here do not
Names its steel as thickened cold-rolled rather than just 'metal'
Same one-lock interlock arrangement as cabinets costing 40 per cent more
What they are not
Does not specify full-extension slides, and the listing's own drawer bullet reads as a list of problems that have been fixed rather than a specification
60.4 lb, the lightest 4-drawer cabinet here, at 52.4 in the tallest - the least favorable mass-to-height ratio on this page
No drawer load rating
The top is 52 in up, which is above counter height and unusable as a surface
Skip this if
Skip this if you will be in the back of these drawers often. It is the only vertical here that does not specify full extension, and on a 17.7 in drawer that is the difference between reaching the oldest file and lifting the newer ones out to get at it.
Who it is for. Archive filing on a budget: paper that has to be kept, locked and rarely retrieved, at the lowest cost per inch available.
Three honest alternatives, because for a lot of home offices one of them is the better purchase.
Two 2-drawer cabinets. Same eight drawers' worth of capacity in a vertical chassis, under a desk, no tipping geometry, and you can put them in two rooms. You pay more per inch and use more wall. Best 2-drawer file cabinets has the ranking.
A 3-drawer cabinet. The format most home offices actually need: enough for a household's live paperwork, short enough to stand beside a desk without dominating the room. Best 3-drawer file cabinets.
A lateral, whatever the drawer count. If cost per filing inch is what you care about, the format matters more than the number of drawers - every lateral on this site beats every vertical on it. Lateral vs vertical file cabinets works the whole decision with the floor-depth arithmetic, which is the part that catches people out.
What none of these do
They do not resist fire. A key lock, powder coat and cold-rolled steel do nothing in a house fire, and a 4-drawer cabinet is the most likely place in a home for originals to end up. If deeds, passports or certificates are going in here, they should not be: fireproof file cabinet vs safe prices the certified alternative honestly.
They do not publish a steel gauge. Not one of the five states one. Thickened, heavy-duty and all-steel are adjectives; the gauge is the number, and the only proxy available is the published weight, which is why we quote it on every pick.
They do not come assembled. All five are flat-packed and all five say so. Only the Letaya publishes how long it takes, at about 30 minutes. For 60 to 140 lb of steel panels, plan for a cleared floor and in most cases a second person.
FAQ
Questions people ask about this
How much can a 4-drawer file cabinet hold?+
It depends entirely on format, not on the drawer count. A 4-drawer vertical here holds about 59 linear inches of filing; a 4-drawer lateral holds between about 102 and 132, because folders hang across the cabinet's width rather than its depth. In paper terms, roughly 1.5 lb per linear inch, so a fully loaded 36 in lateral carries close to 200 lb of documents.
Are 4-drawer file cabinets prone to tipping?+
The geometry is unfavorable, which is why every cabinet on this page ships an anti-tip interlock that allows only one drawer open at a time. At 50 to 52 in tall with a loaded drawer extended at chest height, two open drawers is the failure mode. Buy only cabinets that state the interlock, keep the heaviest files in the bottom drawer, and anchor it to the wall if the room has children in it.
Vertical or lateral for four drawers?+
Lateral, if you have the wall for it. A lateral drawer holds about two and a half times what a vertical drawer holds, and both lateral cabinets here beat every vertical on cost per filing inch. The vertical's only real advantage is width: 15 in against 28 to 36 in. If the wall is the constraint, that advantage decides it.
Why do 4-drawer verticals from different brands look identical?+
Because by their own published figures they are: about 14.96 to 15 in wide, 17.7 in deep and 60 to 62 lb across four brands, varying only in height by a couple of inches. We do not know and do not claim they share a factory. What we can say is that the published specifications are identical to within a rounding error, so the differences worth paying for are the drawer hardware and the price, not the box.
Do any of these publish a drawer weight limit?+
One. The AFAIF states 55 lb per drawer, and nothing else in this hub states a figure at all. By our arithmetic a full vertical drawer of paper is about 22 lb, so that rating has ample margin. The awkward part is that the lateral drawers - about 38 to 50 lb when full - are the ones where a published rating would actually matter, and neither lateral provides one.
Sources
Where these numbers came from
We have not handled any of these products. Every figure on this page is either the manufacturer's own published specification, named as such, or our arithmetic from those figures, shown so you can check it. Prices come from Amazon through our price layer and carry the date they were verified.
Amazon product listings, retrieved 2026-10-03
Published specifications, dimensions, materials and manufacturer claims were read from each product's own listing data. Prices and availability refresh daily and carry their verification date on the page.
The full published method, and an explicit statement of what a specs-only approach cannot tell you.
Our arithmetic: the weight of office paper
A standard letter-size banker's box holds about 2,500 sheets; 2,500 sheets of 20 lb bond weighs about 25 lb, so a full box is roughly 30 lb including the box. That works out at about 1.5 lb per linear inch of upright files. Every shelf-load and cabinet-load comparison on this site uses those figures and shows the sum.
Our arithmetic: the 3 in shell allowance for filing capacity
Only one cabinet in our set publishes a drawer interior — the BIZOEIRON lateral, at 32.44 in interior inside a 35.43 in exterior, a 2.99 in difference. We round that to 3 in and apply it to every other cabinet's published external figure. It is derived from one lateral cabinet, so applying it to verticals is an assumption and we label it as one every time.